May 1: Nominations Announcement

May 29: Winners' Circle

June 1: Awards Gala

The Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement

The NMAF’s most prestigious individual prize since its inception in 1990 is The Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement, an award that recognizes an individual's innovation and creativity through contributions to the magazine industry. The award is open to circulation experts, editors, marketing, sales and promotion professionals, publishers, creators, designers, production managers - in short, to everyone in the industry. It cannot be given posthumously. Nominations for this award are welcome from everyone in the industry. 

Joyce Byrne wins 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award

Joyce Byrne, whose career contributions to Canadian magazine publishing have made a critical and lasting impact on the industry, is the recipient of the 2018 Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement. The National Media Awards Foundation is truly honoured to present her with this award - its highest individual prize. 



Portrait of Joyce by Jared Sych


Previous Outstanding Achievement Award Winners 

2016 Penny Caldwell

2015 Kim Pittaway

2014 Michael Fox

2013 Kim Jernigan
Stephen Trumper
Heather Robertson 
2010 D.B. Scott
2009 Terry Sellwood
2008 Cynthia Brouse
2007 Charles Oberdorf
2006 Neville Gilfoy
2005 John Macfarlane
2004 Paul Jones
2003 Stephen Osborne
2002 Sally Armstrong
2001 Al Zikovitz
2000 Ken Rodmell
1999 Peter C. Newman
1998 Lynn Cunningham
1997 Robert Fulford
1996 James Ireland
1995 Catherine Keachie
1994 Jean Paré
1993 Don Obe
1992 Barbara Moon
1991 Lloyd Hodgkinson
1990 Michael de Pencier
1989 Prue Hemelrijk