May 1: Nominations Announcement

May 29: Winners' Circle

June 1: Awards Gala

A charitable Foundation, the National Media Awards Foundation's mandate is to recognize, support and promote excellence in content creation of Canadian print and digital publications through two annual programs of awards, professional development initiatives and national publicity efforts.  


The Foundation produces two distinct and bilingual award programs: the National Magazine Awards and the Digital Publishing Awards. Throughout the year, the Foundation undertakes various group marketing initiatives and professional development events.

2018 Board of Directors & Staff 

Executive Committee / Comité de direction 


President / Président

       Nino Di Cara

       Strategic Advisor / Conseiller stratégique, Bookmark Content & Communications


Executive At-Large / Administrateur général

Terry Sellwood

Retired, formerly President / Ancien président 

Cottage Life Media 


Vice President NMA / Vice-présidente (PMC)

Melony Ward

Publisher / Éditrice

Canada's History and Kayak


Vice President DPA / Vice-président (DPA)

Kenny Yum

Chief of staff, Senior Director 

CBC News


Treasurer / Trésorière

Liana Bell, CA, CPA

Partner / Associée

Hilborn LLP


Past-President / Président sortant

Joyce Byrne

Publisher / Éditrice

Avenue Magazine 

Directors / Administrateurs 

      Elamin Abdelmahmoud

      Editor, Social Media and News Curation Responsable des médias sociaux et de l'édition des nouvelles

      Buzzfeed Canada


      Julie Cailliau 

      Editor-in-Chief / Rédactrice en chef

      Les Affaires


      Derek Finkle 

      Founder / Fondateur

      Canadian Writers Group


      Matt Frehner 

      Head of Presentation / Responsable de la présentation

      The Globe and Mail


Christopher Frey

Founding editor, Hazlitt, and Toronto correspondent, Monocle / Fondateur de Hazlitt; correspondant à Toronto, Monocle

Monocle Magazine


Curtis Gillespie

Editor / Rédacteur en chef

Eighteen Bridges


Jessica Johnson

Executive Editor and Creative Director / Directrice de la rédaction et de la création

The Walrus


      Peter McNeill 

      Area Marketing Director, GTA / Directeur régional du marketing 

      KPMG Canada


Dan McPhee

Head of Media Platforms / Directeur de la division des plateformes médiatiques

Google Canada


Erin Millar

Co-founder and CEO / Co-fondatrice et directrice générale

Discourse Media


Anna Minzhulina

Freelance Art Director & Designer / Directrice artistique et designer graphique indépendante 


Judith Pereira 

Managing Editor / Directrice de rédaction

Report on Business


Dominique Ritter

Editor-in-Chief / Rédactrice en chef

Reader's Digest Canada


Lisa Whittington-Hill

Publisher / Éditrice 

This Magazine 


Our Team / Notre équipe 


Barbara Gould

Executive Director / Directrice générale

Richard A. Johnson

Media Liaison and Special Projects Manager / Liaison avec les médias et directeur, projets spéciaux


Émilie Pontbriand

Bilingual Communications Manager / Directrice des communications


Leah Edwards

Digital Communications Coordinator


Stephanie Philp

Eny Kuen

Interns / Stagiaires